Elected Officials

Tommy Bryant, Alderman, Ward #1, Position #1

3110 Shade Tree Drive

Tommy Bryant is a lifelong Batesville resident and a 1970 Batesville High School Graduate. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemistry and Business from Arkansas College (now Lyon College) and serves on the president’s Council. He has served on the Batesville Planning Commission since 2005. Tommy is a past president and current board member of the Ozark Woodland Owners Association, Inc. and while in the building materials business served on the board of directors of the Arkansas Lumber & Building Material Dealers Association, the Mid-America Lumbermen’s Association and the National Lumber and Building Materials Association. He has held an Arkansas Real Estate License since 1976 and is the principal broker/owner of Bryant Real Estate.

Margarett Henley, Alderman, Ward #1, Position #2

500 E. Main

Margarett Henley is a lifelong resident of Independence County and a resident of Batesville since 1956. She graduated from Floral High School and holds a Bachelors Degree in Biology from Arkansas College (now Lyon College). Margarett taught High School Biology and Human Anatomy and Physiology at Batesville High School for 38 years, retiring in 2002. She is married to the late Wayne Henley and they have 3 children, Bridget, Scott and Wade. They have been blessed with 8 grandchildren, 2 step grandchildren and one great grandchild.

David Shetron, Alderman, Ward #2, Position #1

570 E. Boswell Street
(870) 793-6061

David Shetron was born and raised in Batesville. David is a graduate of Batesville High School and the University of Arkansas with a Bachelors degree in Business Administration. He is employed by the Batesville Division of Atlas Asphalt. David and his wife Sarah have twin sons and a daughter.

Douglas Matthews, Alderman Ward #2, Position #2

P.O. Box 2216
(870) 793-3249

Dr. Douglas M. Matthews is a life long resident of Batesville. He graduated from Batesville High School, University of Arkansas, and University of Tennessee Dental School. Dr. Matthews started his dental practice with his father in 1976. He is a member of the American Dental Association, Batesville Kiwanis Club, and the First United Methodist Church. Dr. Matthews served on the Batesville Planning Commission until he was elected to the Batesville City Council in 2005.

Julie Hinkle, Alderman Ward #3, Position #1

2525 Central Avenue

Julie Hinkle is a lifelong resident of Batesville. She graduated from Batesville High School and Arkansas State University with a bachelor of science in Corporate Finance. She is employed at Southern Bank as the Branch Retail Manager. She has one son, Carson.

Ronda Bryant, Alderman Ward #3, Position #2

410 East Carter St.

Ronda Bryant is a lifelong resident of Batesville, and a graduate of Batesville High School. She obtained a Bachelor of Science in Education and a Master of Arts in Teaching from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. Ronda is an educator with the Batesville School District. She stays actively involved in Special Olympics, Batesville Kiwanis Club, the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics, and First United Methodist Church, serving in various different capacities within the organizations. She is married to Josh Bryant, and has two children and a stepdaughter.

Paige Hubbard, Alderman Ward #4, Position #1

109 Big Pine
(870) 613-2782

Paige Hubbard was born and raised in Independence County. She is a graduate of Batesville High School and Arkansas State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Social Work. Paige and her husband Wes have 4 children. They are members of Believer's Community Church.

Chris Poole, Alderman Ward #4, Position #2

277 Sawmill Road
Batesville,AR ,72501
(870) 793-5227

Chris Poole was born and raised in Independence County. He graduated from Cushman High School and holds a Bachelors Degree in Engineering from Arkansas State University. Chris is employed by White River Health System and also serves as an Adjunct Instructor at UACCB. Chris and his wife Kim have three children.